Recent Entries
Bump - Friday, Aug. 24, 2007
Back Roads - Friday, May. 25, 2007
Next to Last - Monday, May. 21, 2007
My New Business - Wednesday, Mar. 21, 2007
Lessons in Stone - Tuesday, Feb. 20, 2007
Favorite Reads
unclebob
batten
jen7
weetabix
hulamoons
Kathmccall
rubyfoxx
nixtress
waterlu
sixweasels
Friday, Oct. 19, 2001
Pretty much like any other business, there comes a time when you have these little slack periods. It's inevitable, there is really no way to schedule productive work on a year round basis for many years in a row. In construction, we call it the feast or famine cycle.

If you're a smart business owner, you anticipate this and juggle your money to compensate for the slack times (yes, we did).

Now comes the feast time. I've never seen it to differ. Every year in this industry, the period from Halloween to New Years is just screaming busy. I think it has something to do with the end of the year and spending of allocated funds, because there is usually a similar rush just before end of fiscal year(s) in September.

Typically, Stu and I handle this differently than most other firms. To gear up for feast time, we schedule a great deal of meetings with clients, which are generally helpful, and they insure our weight gain for the upcoming season since we always go to resturants or bars as part of the deal. I'm between "meetings" right now. Most people would call it bar hopping but hey, that wouldn't be professionally dignified. Two more to go, the day will be over and we'll be gassed to the gills.


Ever have a situation where work / school was so prevelant in your thinking that you couldn't get any other thought process going? Boy, there was a big pause between the former paragraph and where I am now.


I know this. I had planned a stealthy solo little get away to New Orleans next week. You know, just a two day out and back affair. A particular music group is playing there on Tuesday. There are many fish to eat, much dallying on Bourbon St. to do. Alas, it will not be so. It's a shame. I can count on one finger the number of times I winged away for a purely selfish vacation, and this will not add to the total. Yes, I'm staying home for the business but part of me still wants to just chuck it and run to the airport. There's nothing like a New Orleans jaunt.

Bet I make it in April for Jazzfest though. If you've made it this far through this non-topic entry I'll give you a little reward, or punishment as the case may be. Click on the link for a summary of last years trip to Nawlins, written for another guestbook crowd but I think you'll get the idea. If you look close, you might even spot Outfoxed on the site. Have a great weekend!

Jazzfest

previous - next 0 comments so far