Recent Entries
Bump - Friday, Aug. 24, 2007
Back Roads - Friday, May. 25, 2007
Next to Last - Monday, May. 21, 2007
My New Business - Wednesday, Mar. 21, 2007
Lessons in Stone - Tuesday, Feb. 20, 2007
Favorite Reads
unclebob
batten
jen7
weetabix
hulamoons
Kathmccall
rubyfoxx
nixtress
waterlu
sixweasels
Friday, Aug. 05, 2005
~21 years ago yesterday Ally and I rolled into the local hospital, checked into a stately room and I played catcher as she pitched out the first of three kids.

My lovely and ever unpredictable Beth the Eldest.

When I was 21, I was gettin� married, working for slave wages and still living at home. Beth is totally uninterested in marriage, is driving for FedEx and living on her own. Which makes me feel older than usual. Good Lord that was a fast 21 years.

Happy Birthday baby. Don�t think that we won�t absolutely rock the house at lunch today. I reserved the Blue Room at the Watering Hole, special. All two tables and the jukebox, with a generous view of the rest room doors. Pretty obvious I�m still one of the great big time spenders of this generation.

Having a beer with your newly minted 21 year old? I can do that.

~Take a look at this link. Man this sort of thing just makes me salivate. Less than a mile from a huge bass lake, and just look at that shop! Eeeeeeeeee!

It�s out in the middle of nowhere. There�s probably no jobs to be had. It�s basically a swamp. A hurricane like the ones we get so often would desecrate the place. It�s over an hour from where I�m sitting right now, where I�ve lived for 30 plus years.

I think it�s gorgeous, and I�m gonna kidnap Ally and go see it this weekend. Who wants to live in the mountains anyway?

~In 6 weeks or less I�ll be walking onto a big boat and trusting in the guy doing the steering that going through the Bermuda triangle in hurricane season? Is really a swell idea. Also, watching my wife in a bikini. But you already knew that.

~Speaking of boats, I�m getting the itch to build one. Just a little fella, a 12 footer made of wood. Something I can toss in the truck and lake, sequentially.

That would work out rather well if I lived within a mile of a major league bass lake, yes? Always thinking ahead, we are. Don�t listen to my wife.

~Have a terrific weekend. If you don�t hear from me for a while, it�s because I chained myself to a shop somewhere in Swampville and refused to leave without a contract.

Or at least a nice fish fry. Thanks for reading.

previous - next 0 comments so far