Recent Entries
Bump - Friday, Aug. 24, 2007
Back Roads - Friday, May. 25, 2007
Next to Last - Monday, May. 21, 2007
My New Business - Wednesday, Mar. 21, 2007
Lessons in Stone - Tuesday, Feb. 20, 2007
Favorite Reads
unclebob
batten
jen7
weetabix
hulamoons
Kathmccall
rubyfoxx
nixtress
waterlu
sixweasels
Friday, Mar. 25, 2005
This is getting to be depressing as all get out.

( . . . �all get out� is a phrase we use here in the Swamplands to signify something that is at an extreme. Your daughter wrecks a two year old car and you take your first look at it? �Damn, this is gonna cost like all get out.�)

The past two or three weeks I�ve made a conscious effort to either apply for a job or coax work from past or new customers at least once a day. I know, it sounds like I�m playing both sides of the field, and I am to an extent. Trying to keep a hiccupping business alive and keeping my name afloat at the same time. It�s a survivor mechanism of sorts.

But if I�m fishing both in fresh and salt water at the same time, I can tell you this. The fish aren�t biting. They�re barely nibbling.

I�m getting the distinct impression that so far as the personal resume reviews are going that the bait might just be past its expiration date.

It�s funny. You�d think that a history of experience spanning 25 years might be attractive to an employer but I�m getting damn little in the way of responses. I know I�m qualified for the spot. Wouldn�t apply otherwise, wouldn�t waste their time or mine.

But I have this awful picture of some young punk reviewing these things and going, �Holy Jebus, Fred! Take a look at this fossil�s resume! Dude�s old enough to be my father for godssakes. Guess we�d have to put up a handicapped sign near the front door for this one, eh? Bwahahahahaaa!�

Damn kids.

I applied to a place this morning for myself that�s 90 miles from here. And again - fully qualified. No doubt in my mind. It�s the same type of insider work I did 10 years ago.

If those punks nice folks don�t call I�m gonna want to know why.


I know one thing. I�m trying to think of something to do for a 25th wedding anniversary that�s coming up in 7 weeks. Most of the stuff I�d like to do involve money. Understandable. Most Caribbean resorts (or South Carolina resorts, for that matter) have a strong affinity towards the passing of disposable cash.

That�s getting to be out of the question. Looks like another trip to the sandwich shop and a round of drinks for this anniversary. Hell, it worked like a charm for the 20th.

Maybe an all-nighter at the local fishing pier. The sea trout might be rolling by then. Or some early flounder. You never can tell.

All depends on the bait.

previous - next 0 comments so far