Recent Entries
Bump - Friday, Aug. 24, 2007
Back Roads - Friday, May. 25, 2007
Next to Last - Monday, May. 21, 2007
My New Business - Wednesday, Mar. 21, 2007
Lessons in Stone - Tuesday, Feb. 20, 2007
Favorite Reads
unclebob
batten
jen7
weetabix
hulamoons
Kathmccall
rubyfoxx
nixtress
waterlu
sixweasels
Tuesday, Apr. 19, 2005
We�re sellin� out.

Which is to say, Ally and I are sellin� the big two story in suburbia with the crappy lawn and the pile of lumber that used to be a pool deck and 13 years of accumulated crapola (and trust me, you can accumulate a helluva lot of crapola in 13 years).

In a heated real estate market such as the one we have right now, selling out makes you a rock star. I swear, if I put this thing up for sale myself, by owner, and asked for cash money by the suitcase-full, I�d get it. And they�d be standing in line to do it. These people are crazy. I signed a two page agreement with a Watering Hole realtor to list the damn thing, and he wanted to know if I was packed already.

Packed? Jeez, I haven�t even cut the lawn this week.

Why? Why are we moving you ask?

Well let�s just see.

We have 3 unmarried kids. One doesn�t live here at all. One does, but works long hours and stays at a girlfriends house 95% of the time. The youngest . . . let�s not talk about the youngest, okay? Let�s also not talk about income for the first quarter of 2005, while we�re at it.

And the market for used housing is right at its peak this month. I don�t need a realtor to tell me that. I live in the hottest school district in the largest city in my state, and dammit I�m selling. This hut will make more money in the next 30 days, per capita, than it ever will again. With any luck, the azaleas will be blooming when the first potential buyer strolls up three days from now.

Ally and I are cashing out.

Frankly, if we wind up in an apartment somewhere, paying more than we do right now for a mortgage, it won�t bother me awful much. I�d kinda like to rent for a year. Watch the bottom drop out of the real estate market and laugh and laugh.

Okay, no, I�m really not that awful a fella to laugh at others expense.

Unless I�m selling a tepee when the Indians are runnin� out of buffalo, you know?

Entrys may be spotty for a while. Like that�s something different. But, and I just gave this speech to the Middlest One, stuff like this happens. Houses come and go. People need money, people want to spend money. Houses get sold.

Hopefully, they�ll roll out the cable modem to our tepee in the woods after we sell. I mean, after all. How else will y�all know what the hell is going on?

previous - next 0 comments so far