Recent Entries
Bump - Friday, Aug. 24, 2007
Back Roads - Friday, May. 25, 2007
Next to Last - Monday, May. 21, 2007
My New Business - Wednesday, Mar. 21, 2007
Lessons in Stone - Tuesday, Feb. 20, 2007
Favorite Reads
unclebob
batten
jen7
weetabix
hulamoons
Kathmccall
rubyfoxx
nixtress
waterlu
sixweasels
Tuesday, Jan. 31, 2006
I�ve had a computer underfoot for darn near 20 years, maybe more. I�m pretty well convinced I�ll never figure them out entirely. I�m absolutely convinced that I�ll never understand why it is necessary to stuff money into its CD drive every so often to keep it mollified, as if it were some sort of techno fossil fuel burning orb and the preferred fuel was wads of cash.

I was up half the night fine tuning this laptop hog. But it seems to be getting over whatever ailment it had. I�ve fed it, watered it and now I�m walking it around the block waiting for it to expel a mighty dump. You have to think in these terms when fooling around with computers. Keeps you sane, it does.


Every now and then I pass along a link or three, generally somewhat obscure blogs or sites gleaned from the simmering mob. They�re all writers, these shown below. I admire the talent, and in a couple of cases, the art that these people take on and so effortlessly produce for an oft times limited audience. None will cause undo trauma, and you may find yourself falling into the 2 hour rabbit hole with some of them.

Couldn�t tell you on a bet where or how I came across some of these folks. Doesn�t matter. Please enjoy, as I do.

E-mail from NOLA. A single man in New Orleans, living in the midst of the dark side, post-Katrina. Sometimes a carpenter, always a wordsmith.

The Hot Librarian. More words than a Joyce anthology, and a thousand times more funny.

The Waiter. Very popular blog, if you haven�t caught his NYC observations yet. Will be an author, if there�s any justice in the world.

Velociman. Deep South Faulknerisms with a touch of good brandy.

Doc Flowers. Most obscure of my listed blogs but one of the most beautiful. Travels the South and tells the tale in amazing short form.

previous - next 0 comments so far