Recent Entries
Bump - Friday, Aug. 24, 2007
Back Roads - Friday, May. 25, 2007
Next to Last - Monday, May. 21, 2007
My New Business - Wednesday, Mar. 21, 2007
Lessons in Stone - Tuesday, Feb. 20, 2007
Favorite Reads
unclebob
batten
jen7
weetabix
hulamoons
Kathmccall
rubyfoxx
nixtress
waterlu
sixweasels
Tuesday, Feb. 21, 2006
It always happens in the middle of the night.

In the middle of a dead sleep I�ll conjure up some high wire scene, walking the three inch beam or working a 24 story parapet wall with no tie-off. Stuff I ordinarily don�t do, the ironworker thing best performed by the boys from upstate NY with names that ring of land and air.

Or looking out over the edge and seeing just how high up I am, and shivering.

Then the drop, the slip, only an instant of free flight, and my knees buckle and arms slam against the bed to break the fall and I wake up with a hammering heart, panting like a worked over mule.

This has been going on for years. Never have figured it out, in my waking times on the job I have absolutely no problem with heights at all. Roof work, ladders, a bucket lift, I�ve done it all and sometimes at heights that only a bird could enjoy. Back a couple of years ago, Stu and I rented a bucket lift to do siding and trim on a really tough jobsite. I�d hop in there and soar skyward, three stories tall and be happy as a clam, the wind howling and the bucket waving around like some giant tetherball, literally bouncing off the house at times.

It�s strange. I dream about being rich too, and that never happens.

Maybe being clairvoyant isn�t what I was cut out to do.


The Meters, Dave Matthews Band, Bob Dylan, Yolanda Adams, Allen Toussaint with special guest Elvis Costello, Ani DiFranco, James Taylor. That�s week one.

Fats Domino, Jimmy Buffett, Lionel Richie, Paul Simon, Keith Urban, Irma Thomas, Robert Randolph & the Family Band. Uh huh, week two.

The Lineup is out. And I only listed the names you would recognize. Which amounts to oh, about 5% of those who will actually be playing.

I do this every year. Torture myself. It�s been six years since I went and for all the lusting, it�s probably gonna be seven after it�s all said and done.

Besides, if I went on down there and saw the city I wouldn�t want to leave.

Dammit, Robert Randolph�s gonna be there. Why God do you torture me thusly? Kick me off a ledge so I can slam into the bed why don�t you, it�s a helluva lot easier to get over that. Dreaming about stuff like this just isn�t right. Ain�t right, I say.

Besides, it�s embarrassing as hell when Ally catches me pointing towards the laptop screen and blubbering like a twelve year old girl.

previous - next 0 comments so far